Do You Know How To Limit and Privatize Your Search History?

Google has been introducing new privacy settings and tools that we can now use to limit how much is being saved. These new privacy features are also extending into YouTube searches, location history, and virtual assistant data.

Limit and Privatize Your Search History

You may be aware that when you use google and are signed into your account, your search history is saved. The company is known for keeping data to enhance the experience for the users. The more the service is used, the more Google knows about you. This also lets Google target ads to what you search.

There has never been a good way to manage your history and delete it. Google has been introducing new privacy settings and tools that we can now use to limit how much is being saved. These new privacy features are also extending into YouTube searches, location history, and virtual assistant data. There are also going to be some updates to the maps app for private locations that you may need to visit, such as a doctor’s office.

Deleting the Data

There is an easy location to view most of your history and the website is myactivity.google.com. Once you log into your account, you can see your search activity and the websites you may have browsed. You can view your history by day, or you can choose to view each item separately. There is also a button on the left, called “other google activity,” where you can find other history searches, such as YouTube search history, web apps, and location history.

On the left bar, there is a “delete activity” button. This will allow you to erase search history by a number of different methods, including time, custom range, or activity.

YouTube Search History Privatization Screenshot

You can do the same for YouTube by turning the video history “off” so there are no ads based on the videos you are watching at the moment. Once this is set, you can automatically delete the history after a set amount of time. There is also an “auto delete” option for location history with the same settings.

My personal settings are to always auto delete my history after 3 months for all platforms. This gives me the flexibility to always keep my searches, ads, and recommended videos relevant to what I’m searching for that month. I recommend tweaking the default settings in your google accounts to make sure that your history from years past is not saved.

If you have any questions, reach out to our Long Island IT Company.