Certified Professional in Web Accessibility (CPWA)

What is the CPACC Certification?

Individuals who are Certified Professionals in Accessibility Core Competencies have demonstrated a thorough grasp of three areas:

  • The disabilities that must be taken into account when designing an accessible website
  • The principles of accessible design
  • The laws and best practices surrounding the design and ongoing maintenance of an accessible website

Why Should I Choose LI Tech Advisors to Ensure My Website Is Accessible to Individuals with Disabilities?

LI Tech Advisors experts are CPACC certified and offer the latest WCAG 2.1 accessibility testing. Led by Anthony Buonaspina, an accessibility expert recognized locally and internationally, they have provided solutions directly and through their partnerships for clients such as Peapod, Carnival Cruise Lines, American Airlines, Toyota, SUNY, NYS DMV, IRS, and many others.

Working with LI Tech Advisors also provides the benefit of their partnerships that allows working towards barrier-free and independent access to all digital platforms by having usability testing performed by people with disabilities resulting in a comprehensive report certifying a website accessible and usable.

Who Administers the CPACC Certification?

The International Association of Accessibility Professionals (IAAP) is a not-for-profit organization that oversees the testing and certification for the CPACC designation.

The IAAP is a membership-based organization boasting nearly 2,000 individual or organizational members across forty-two countries worldwide. 2016 was a pivotal year for the IAAP as it was in that year that the IAAP became a division of the Global Initiative for Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies – a United Nations advocacy group.

What are the Laws Governing Accessibility in Internet Technology?

Providing accessible digital platforms is mandated under Federal Law and State Policy

  • Titles II and III of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)
  • International Organization for Standardization (ISO) ISO/IEC 40500:2012
  • Sections 508, 504 and 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973
  • Best practices and protocols as outlined by the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

Although private websites and apps are not mandated to comply, they will have to do so if they are working with federal agencies. Moreover, commercial best practices utilize W3C’s Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) to help people with disabilities access websites. Websites have to be accessible even though the ADA doesn’t specify a particular set of standards. Because of this uncertainty in the law, litigation is now thriving.

Who Takes the CPACC Exam?

There are many fields in which the CPACC certification is useful. Here are a few of the professions that the IAAP indicates rely on individuals that have taken the CPACC exam and demonstrate an understanding of the accessibility needs of disabled individuals within their field.

  • technology professionals in diverse specializations
  • architects and urban planners
  • emergency response coordinators
  • salespeople and support staff at accessibility consulting companies
  • lawmakers and legal counsel
  • media producers
  • recreation and hospitality providers
  • teachers and professors
  • health care providers
  • international development professionals
  • disability rights activists

Does CPACC Certification Cover More Than Just Website Design?

Yes. Professionals with CPACC certification work in the following fields to make everyday life accessible to individuals with a wide range of disabilities.

  • Websites
  • Mobile Devices and Applications
  • Architecture
  • Transportation Systems
  • Consumer and Industrial Design