Incognito mode helps keep your online browsing private from other users. It erases your browsing and search histories and dumps tracking cookies. There’s a private browsing mode on most browsers, but you will find incognito mode on Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, and Firefox.
Any cookies created during an incognito browsing session are automatically deleted when the browser is closed. This is very beneficial if you’re on a public computer and you forgot to sign out. Once the private window is closed, the sign in cookie is deleted, so your account is not automatically brought up or signed in the next time the page loads.
Another great reason to use private browsing is the “multiple sessions” feature. You can sign into multiple accounts in different private windows. For example, if you’re checking your business email, you can open a private window to check your personal email, while staying signed into your business account.
Although private browsing with incognito mode helps in hiding your information from other users, it does not prevent your internet service provider from seeing what you’re doing. If you’re trying to be even more stealthy, you should look into using a VPN (Virtual Private Network).
Call LI Tech Advisors!